Vienna districts guide
Vienna InfoFeatures

Vienna districts guide

Vienna is divided into 23 districts – administrative areas of different sizes and with their own specific characteristics and charm. Vienna districts are both numbered and have a name, so it is easy to navigate. Their numbers are linked to postal codes, so if an address in Vienna has a postal code 1210, it is in 21st district (middle number from postal code 1210). Here is another example – 1010 is a postal code from first district – 1010.

Also, street names displayed on plates are numbered with district numbers, so if plate reads 4. Prinz Eugen-Straße, this means you are in the 4th district. This makes navigation through Vienna really easy.

From 23 districts, first nine are considered inner districts as they are located around city center. The remaining 14 districts (10-23) are considered outer districts as they are further away from the city center.

Here is the list and brief info about Vienna districts with their postcodes (zip codes):
Vienna, administrative divisions - Nmbrs

District 1 – Innere Stadt – 1010

The main, central district located in the geographical center of Vienna. Home to Stephan Platz (Stephansplatz) and St. Stephen’s Cathedral (Stephansdom). The main tourist flocking area with several important landmarks and high-end shopping and dining areas. It is a part of the Old Town and has couple of pedestrian areas popular with tourists and Vienna resident alike.

District 2 – Leopoldstadt – 1020

Leopoldstadt is the district on the island between the Danube and the Donaukanal. It shares the island with 22nd district, Brigittenau. It is home of Praterstern, city’s busiest traffic node, and Prater Park with Viennese Giant Ferris Wheel.

District 3 – Landstraße – 1030

Landstraße is next to Innere Stadt (district 1), right on the right side of the Donaukanal. It includes Belvedere Palace and central train station of Vienna, Wien Mitte.

District 4 – Wieden – 1040

Wieden is a small district in the south to the city center and includes Karlsplatz with famous Karlskirche and also the Vienna University of Technology.

District 5 – Margareten – 1050

Margareten and Wieden were one district until 1861. It is a small district, almost identical in size with Wieden. Famous for being a home to Austrian Society and Economy Museum, known globally for introduction of Vienna Method, data visualization method.

District 6 – Mariahilf – 1060

This is another small district, part of the central city area. Popular with shopping and dining area along Mariahilfer Straße and also includes Haus des Meeres Aqua Terra Zoo, Vienna aquarium.

District 7 – Neubau – 1070

Neubau is another small district with shopping area, and also is a host to the Museumsquartier, a large museum and gallery complex.

District 8 – Josefstadt – 1080

Josefstadt is another small district adjacent to the Rathaus, and close to the Parliament and the University of Vienna.

District 9 – Alsergrund – 1090

Alsergrund is the last of the inner districts and it closes the circle around city center. It is the area of the General Hospital and Vienna Medical University district, and alslo Sigmund Freud’s Museum.

District 10 – Favoriten – 1100

Favoriten is one of the larger districts with largest population so far. It is located in the southern part of Vienna. On its northern border, there is main train station, Wien Hauptbahnhof, and Vienna’s thermal spa in its southern part.

District 11 – Simmering – 1110

Simmering is a fairly large district, located next to Favoriten and on the right side of the Donaukanal. It includes Wiener Zentralfriedhof, Vienna Central Cemetery.

District 12 – Meidling – 1120

Meidling is a small district on the southern bank of the Wien river. Current Chancellor of Austria Sebastian Kurz was raised there and has private residence is Meidling.

District 13 – Heitzing – 1130

Hietzing is on the southern bank of the Wien river, and on the west of Vienna city area. It includes Schönbrunn Palace.

District 14  – Penzing – 1140

Penzing was one district with Heitzing until they were divided into two districts in 1938. Located on the northern bank of the Wien river, it is famous for Otto Wagner’s Church – Kirche am Steinhof.

District 15 – Rudolfsheim-Fünfhaus – 1150

Rudolfsheim-Fünfhaus is on the northern bank of the Wien river and it is a small district surrounded by six other Vienna district form the area. It is a district with highest percentage of foreign-born population in Vienna.

District 16 – Ottakring – 1160

Formerly a village of Ottakring, this western district is now a thriving neighborhood famous for its brewery and large Balkan immigration, especially from former Yugoslavia.

District 17 – Hernals – 1170

Hernals is the district stretching towards northwestern outskirts of Vienna. Famous churches to visit there are Kalvarienbergkirche, the Sühnekirche, and the Marienpfarre.

District 18 – Währing – 1180

Währing is on the northwestern of Vienna and includes the Türkenschanzpark and University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences. There are several notable buildings/castles in this district, such as Schloß Pötzleinsdorf.

District 19 – Döbling – 1190

Döbling is northern district and it is one of the larger ones. It is famous for being a residence of Beethoven and it hosts Japanese Garden.

District 20 – Brigittenau – 1200

Brigittenau was one district with Leopoldstadt, until they were made two districts in 1900. Named after Brigitta Chapel, built in 17th century.

Ditrict 21 – Floridsdorf – 1210

Floridsdorf is large district located on the left bank of the Danube and in the north of Vienna and includes combination of industrial and residential.

District 22 – Donaustadt – 1220

Donaustadt is on the left bank of the Danube and is the largest district of Vienna, occupying almst one quarter of city’s area. It is a host of the Vienna International Centre, large campus and building complex of the United Nations Office in Vienna and several agencies and Vienna’s largest conference center.

District 23 – Liesing – 1230

Liesing is the southernmost district, which is also least populated area in Vienna. It includes the Wotruba Church, an unique example of Brutalism in architecture.


This is just a brief description of each of Vienna districts. We hope this will be useful starting point in exploration of the city. We will be writing in more details as we add articles about attractions and landmarks around Vienna.

Similar Posts